What UN Body is a Subsidiary Organ of the General Assembly in the Area of Human Rights?

United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) is the subsidiary organ of the United Nations (UN) General Assembly that protects and promotes Human Rights around the world. The headquarters of the UNHRC is located in Geneva, Switzerland. It was established on 15th March, 2006. UNHRC has 47 members elected for a time period of 3 years, on a regional group basis.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

What are the Main Functions of the UN General Assembly?

Some of the main functions of the UN General Assembly are given below.

  1. Disarmament and international security
  2. Social, cultural and humanitarian issues
  3. Economic and financial aspects
  4. Legal matters
  5. Arbitrating peace between nations.
  6. Human Rights

Overall to take care of all the functions of the UN General Assembly, it has 30 committees out of which 6 are main committees, 6 commissions, 4 Councils and 1 panel. These are subsidiary organs of the UN General Assembly.

What are the 6 Main Committees of the UN General Assembly?

The UN General Assembly has 30 committees, but 6 of them are the main committees. The list of 6 main committees are listed below.

  1. Committee of Disarmament and International Security (DISEC)
  2. Committee on Economic and Financial Aspects (ECOFIN)
  3. Committee on Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Issues (SOCHUM)
  4. Special Political and Decolonisation (SPECPOL) committee
  5. Legal Committee
  6. Administrative and Budgetary Committee.

Who are the Members of the United Nations General Assembly?

The United Nations General Assembly was established in 1945. At the time of establishment it had 51 members, currently the UN General Assembly has 193 members. Out of 193, two-thirds of the members are developing countries.


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *