African Union


The African Union (AU) is a continental union established on 26 May 2001. The union comprises of 54 countries of Africa. Morocco is the only African state that is not a member of the African Union and is a member of the United Nations. This could be attributed to the Western Saharan Political status. The AU was established in Addis Ababa and was launched in South Africa on 9 July 2002. It was established with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). The Assembly of African Union (a half-yearly meeting of the heads of the government of the member states and the heads of states) is the important decision maker. The African Union Commission and the African Union’s secretariat is present in Addis Ababa.