Eligibility Criteria For UPSC

Eligibility for IAS:

The candidates applying for IAS Exam must meet the eligibility criteria prescribed by the Commission. The admission hall-tickets are issued, but is insignificant because the commission verifies eligibility conditions with reference to original documents, only after the candidate has qualified for Personality Test (Interview).

Age requirement for IAS eligibility has been changed from 2015.

  • For General category candidates, upper age limit is 32 years with a maximum of 6 attempts.
  • For OBC candidates, upper age limit is 35 years with a maximum of 9 attempts.
  • For SC/ST candidates, upper age limit is 42 and the number of attempts is up to the age limit.
  • For physically disabled candidates, upper age limit is 35, 38 and 40 for General category, OBC and SC/ST respectively with the number of attempts being 9 for General category and OBC candidates; for SC/ST up to age limit.
  • Candidates from J&K domicile, upper age limits are 37 years, 40 years, 42 years and 50 years for GC, SC/ST, OBC and physically handicapped respectively and upper age limit is same as stated above for specific categories.
  • For disabled servicemen, upper age limit 35 years, 38 years and 40 years respectively for GC, OBC, SC/ST respectively and upper age limit is same as stated above for specific categories.

The academic eligibility for UPSC exams are:

  • The candidate must hold a degree from Government recognized Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • Candidates who are in their final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination. All such candidates who are eligible to appear for IAS exams must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with the application for the main IAS examination.
  • Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
  • Medical students who have passed final year of MBBS, but are yet to complete their internship also have eligibility for IAS.  Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution has to be submitted.

Other Eligibility Criteria for IAS:

  1. Nationality:

To appear for IAS examinations, a candidate must be a citizen of India.


  1. Age Limits :
  2. Up to 5 years if a candidate belongs to a Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe.
  3. Up to 3 years if a candidate belongs to Other Backward Classes
  • The candidate’s must be of  21 years and must not exceed  32 years on the 1st of August, 2016 (i.e., A candidate must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1984 and not later than 1st August, 1995)
  • The upper age limit prescribed above will be relaxed:
  • Up to 5 years if a candidate had been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January, 1980-31st December, 1989.
  1. Up to 3 years in the case of Defense Services personnel disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof.
  2. Up to 5 years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years Military Service as on 1st August, 2016 and whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defense issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and that they will be released on three months’ notice on selection from the date of receipt of offer of appointment
  3. Up to a maximum of 10 years in the case of blind, deaf-mute and orthopedically handicapped persons.
  4. Candidate must be physically and mentally fit.
  5. The percentage eligibility for UPSC exams.
  • If a candidate belongs to SC/ST or OBC and also come under the category of Ex-servicemen, persons domiciled in the State of J & K, physically handicapped etc. will be eligible for grant of cumulative age-relaxation under both the categories.
  • A candidate should have completed degree with 55% aggregate in the graduate examination or equivalent.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *