Know the Classification of Civil Services

Classification of civil services in India

The Indian government has decided to observe the 21st of April all year as “Civil Services Day”. It is an event for the Indian civil servants to devote themselves to the cause of people and refurbish their obligation to public service and excellence in work.

First such function was held at Vigyan Bhawan in 2006. The Prime Minister of India inaugurated the event. The most of the energetic youths in India aspires to become IAS/ IPS officer. The recruitment for these prestigious posts was conducted by Union Public Service Commission annually through an examination called Civil Services Exam.

Read more | How to become an IAS officer

The Civil Servants are the backbone of entire administration of the India. The elected ministers of the country lay down the strategies essential to run the administrative mechanism, which is then carried forward by the civil servants in different central government agencies.

These civil servants are recruited through the Civil Services Examination conducted by UPSC. The Civil Services IAS Exam is the toughest competitive examination in India. The success rate of the UPSC IAS Exam with a success rate is very less compared to other examination. The Civil Services exam is widely known as UPSC IAS Exam which is regarded as the mother of all exams.

Also Read | Top 10 mantras to crack prelims 2017

The UPSC IAS Exam is conducted in three stages. They are:

  • Civil Services Preliminary Examination
  • Civil Services Main (written) Examination
  • Civil Services Personality test

The Civil Services in India can be grouped into three sets-All India Services, Central Civil Services and State Civil Services

Services, where Civil Servants who serve both the Union and the State Governments are designated under All India Services.

 Services, where members serve only the Union Government, are termed Central Civil Services. The Central Civil Services manage matters like Railways, Income Tax, Customs and Central Excise, Telecommunication etc.

Apart from these, the State Governments have their own group of services called as State Civil Services. The recruitment to state civil services is done by the respective Public Service Commissions of the States and not by the UPSC.


Tune into for more strategy articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *