List Of Presidents Of India Since Independence

In 1947, India gained its independence from years of oppressive British rule. It was a historic year for India. In this article, you will get to know about all the Presidents of India from 1950 to 2017. 

The list of presidents of India holds relevance for the general awareness section of various competitive exams. Candidates preparing for UPSC exam, Bank exam, Insurance exam, or any Government exam must keep aware of the number of presidents and their tenure of office in the country. 

List of Presidents of India- Download PDF Here

List of Presidents of India is important for the Polity section in the UPSC exam. Candidates preparing for UPSC exam can check significant information on the exam in the linked article. 

Other important links:

Candidates preparing for any of the above-mentioned exams are advised to take
Online quizzes to boost their preparation. 

List Of Indian Presidents From 1950 – 2019

The President of the Republic of India is the head of the state of India and the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

The Constitution of India was adopted on January 26, 1950, and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the first constitutional head of the state, the President of India. 

Since 1950, India has had its 14 full-time Presidents and there have been tenures when the country was headed by an acting president. 

Pranab Mukherjee, the 13th President of India, completed his term in July 2017. Though he was eligible, he did not contest for re-election. As a result, Ram Nath Kovind on July 25th, 2017, became the 14th Indian President, appointed by the Electoral College. 

The Indian Presidents list from 1950 till 2019 is given in the table below: 

List Of Presidents of India – 1950-2019
President’s Name Birth Tenure Tenure of Office
Dr Rajendra Prasad  (1884-1963) January 26, 1950 – May 13, 1962
Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan  (1888-1975) May 13, 1962 – May 13, 1967
Dr Zakir Hussain  (1897-1969) May 13, 1967 – May 03, 1969
Varahagiri Venkatagiri (Acting President) (1884-1980)  May 03, 1969 – July 20, 1969
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President) (1905-1992)  July 20, 1969 – August 24, 1969
Varahagiri Venkatagiri  (1884-1980) August 24, 1969 – August 24, 1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed  (1905-1977) August 24, 1974 – February 11, 1977
B.D. Jatti (Acting President) (1913-2002)  February 11, 1977 – July 25, 1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy  (1913-1996) July 25, 1977 – July 25, 1982
Giani Zail Singh  (1916-1994) July 25, 1982 – July 25, 1987
R. Venkataraman  (1910-2009) July 25, 1987 – July 25, 1992
Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma  (1918-1999) July 25, 1992 – July 25, 1997
K.R. Narayanan  (1920-2005) July 25, 1997 – July 25, 2002
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam  (1931-2015) July 25, 2002 – July 25, 2007
Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil  (Birth-1934) July 25, 2007 – July 25, 2012
Shri Pranab Mukherjee  (Birth-1935) July 25, 2012 – July 25, 2017
Shri Ram Nath Kovind  (Birth-1945) July 25, 2017 – Incumbent

Aspirants of Bank exams, UPSC exams, Government exams or any other competitive exams must know the list of Indian Presidents and the time duration they have served as the nation’s head. This topic holds relevance for the general awareness section of all types of competitive exams and for the Polity section in the UPSC exams. In terms of UPSC syllabus, list of Presidents of India is a static GK topic.

Candidates are advised to check more Static GK topics on the linked page.  

For more such articles, keep checking BYJU’s page. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *