What Are The 5 Stages Of The Nitrogen Cycle?

Nitrogen cycle

Nitrogen Cycle is a biogeochemical process. It transforms the inert atmospheric nitrogen to a more usable form for living entities.

The major steps of the nitrogen cycle are –

  • Nitrogen fixation – conversion of gaseous nitrogen to ammonia
  • Nitrification – conversion of ammonia to nitrate
  • Nitrogen assimilation – assimilation of nitrogen of molecules into nucleic acids and plant proteins
  • Ammonification – conversion of biological nitrogen compounds into NH3 and NH4+
  • Denitrification – Reduction of NO3- to N2

Also see:

Stay tuned to BYJU’S to learn more NEET questions.

Was this answer helpful?


0 (0)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *