What Are The Layers Of The Cornea?

There are five layers anteroposteriorly in the cornea, they are –

  • Endothelium – single layer of cells lining the inner surface of Descemet’s membrane
  • Descemet’s membrane – endothelium’s basement membrane
  • Stroma – comprising close to 90% of total corneal thickness. Comprises lamellae of collagen, ground substances and cells
  • Bowman’s layer – homogenous sheet of altered stroma
  • Epithelium and its basement membrane – stratified squamous epithelium having 5-6 layers of regular orientation
Also see:

Was this answer helpful?


0 (0)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *