What Are the Types of Recombination?

Recombination is the exchange of genetic information between two chromosomes or between two parts of the same chromosome. Recombination is mainly of four types:

  • Homologous recombination – occurs during meiosis, when a part of the chromosome is exchanged between two homologous chromosomes.
  • Non-homologous recombination – exchange of genetic information between dissimilar chromosomes.
  • Site-specific recombination – used in recombinant technology, DNA is cut at a specific site using restriction enzymes and a new piece of DNA is inserted, e.g. plasmid, bacteriophage, etc.
  • Replicative recombination – E.g. A new copy of a transposable element is generated at a new site in the same chromosome.

Further reading:

Stay tuned to BYJU’S to learn similar questions and important points related to genes and chromosomes.

Was this answer helpful?


2.5 (1)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *