NCO Class 9 Syllabus

The National Cyber Olympiad (NCO) is a nationwide competition for kids in grades 1 to 10. The Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF) is in charge of organising the competition. It is a well-known olympiad test. Like previous olympiad tests, it emphasises computational and reasoning abilities. The test’s goal is to assist students in improving their mental capacity, logical reasoning skills, and analytical reasoning skills. There is only one level of examination in the National Cyber Olympiad. The NCO Exam is usually held in December or January.

Highlights of the Examination

The National Cyber Olympiad is a cyber security competition open to students in grades 1 to 10. The exam’s main goal is to improve students’ internet security and computer abilities, as well as learn more about computers and information technology and gain skills. Students of various ages can take the exam, depending on their classes. Some of the examination’s objectives are listed below.

  • Students’ awareness of cyber security should be encouraged.
  • Improve students’ computer abilities and knowledge starting in primary school.
  • Students will be taught the technical skills they will need in today’s digital world.

Exam Pattern

The NCO test is divided into three parts.

  • Section I contains questions about patterns, series, and classifications for students in grades 1 to 5. Section I addresses combined verbal and nonverbal cognitive issues for students from grades 6 to 10.
  • Section II contains topics about computers, information technology, and technological breakthroughs.
  • Section III deals with higher-order cognitive questions. The topic is the same in every grade, but the degree of difficulty varies and keeps increasing.

The question paper includes 1-hour 35 objective-type (Multiple Choice) questions for Classes 1 to 4 and 50 objective-type (Multiple Choice) questions for Classes 5 to 10.

The exam schedule for Class 9 is shown in the table below.

Class / Grade


Number of questions

Marks per question

Total marks

Grade 9

Section 1




Section 2




Section 3




Grand Total



Syllabus for Class 9

The syllabus of major educational boards, including CBSE, ICSE, State Board, and others, are followed by the SOF NCO Olympiad. The curriculum is created using these boards, as well as considering the students’ intellectual functioning. The exam places a strong emphasis on logical reasoning and mathematical aptitude, which are required in the field of computer technology. The concepts, themes, and principles that students must understand in order to pass the exam are listed below.

Below is a list of the ninth-grade curriculum.

Grade IX

Section I (Logical Reasoning)

Section II (Computer & IT)


Reasoning: Verbal and non-verbal reasoning.

  • Algorithms and Flowcharts in Programming, Visual Basic, and Animations
  • HTML (Links, Anchors and Table tags)
  • MS-Word, MS-Excel (Formula Auditing, Data Tools, Protecting, Sharing workbooks/worksheets, and Working with cell range)
  • MS-PowerPoint, Hardware, and Software
  • Input & Output Devices
  • Memory & Storage Devices
  • Flash CS6
  • Communication Technology (Networking, Internet, and Multimedia)
  • Operating Systems (Types-Interactive (GUI based), Real-Time & Distributed, and Commonly used OS)
  • The current trends and developments taking place in the field of Information Technology and Computer Science

High-order thinking skills questions based on Section II

Any ninth-grade syllabus textbook that covers the topics and concepts outlined above is suitable for proper study. Students can comprehend more about test patterns and difficulty levels by checking the official website, which also has NCO class 9 sample papers. Students will get a clear idea of how the exam will be conducted and also improve their writing and time management skills.

Frequently Asked Questions on NCO 2021

Which subject is mainly focused in the Class 9 NCO exam ?

The Class 9 NCO exam mainly focuses on computer science.

How are the sample papers helpful for the NCO exam?

The sample papers available on the NCO official website help the students to know the examination pattern and the difficulty level of the questions asked.

What is the total marks of the exam for Class 9?

The total marks of the exam is 60 for Class 9.

Are there any mock tests that are available to the candidates?

Yes. The students can refer to the SOF official website for mock tests.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.