Explain the various steps involvrd in the process of nutrition in animals


Nutrition in Animals
  • Animals are heterotrophs and hence they depend on other organisms (plants and other animals) for their food.
  • All the animals can be divided into three groups on the basis of their food habits. These are:
  1. Herbivores
  2. Carnivores
  3. Omnivores

Herbivores: Those animals which eat only plants are called herbivores. Examples are Goat, Cow, and Deer etc.

Carnivores: Those animals which eat only other animals as food are called carnivores. Examples are Lion, Tiger, and Lizard etc.

Omnivores: Those animals which eat both, plants and animals are called omnivores. Examples are Man, Dog and Crow etc.

  • It is the energy of sun which provides food for plants, and animals.
Different steps in the process of nutrition in animals There are five steps in the process of nutrition in animals.
  1. Ingestion: The process of taking food into the body is called ingestion.
  2. Digestion: the process in which the food containing large, insoluble molecules is broken down into small, water soluble molecules is called digestion.
  3. Absorption: The process in which the digested food passes through the intestinal wall into blood stream is called absorption.
  4. Assimilation: The process in which the absorbed food is taken in by the body cells and used for energy, growth and repair is called assimilation.
  5. Egestion: The process in which the undigested food is removed from the body is called egestion.

 Suggest corrections

Similar questions
View More

People also searched for
View More