Q. In the context of the Union Territories in India, which of the following statements is/are correct?

Select the correct answer using the code given below

Your Answer

1 and 2 only
Correct Answer

3 only
Your Answer

2 and 3 only
Your Answer

1, 2 and 3


The correct option is A
3 only


Statement 1 is incorrect.

The legislative power of Parliament for the union territories on subjects of the State List remains unaffected even after establishing a local legislature for them. 

For example, Parliament laws on state subjects also extend to Puducherry and Delhi, which have their own local legislatures. 

At the same time, the legislative assembly of Puducherry can also make laws on any subject of the State List and the Concurrent List. Similarly, the legislative assembly of Delhi can make laws on any subject of the State List (except public order, police and land) and the Concurrent List.

Statement 2 is incorrect.

The Parliament can establish a high court for a union territory or put it under the jurisdiction of the high court of an adjacent state. Delhi is the only union territory that has a high court of its own. Rest of the territories depend on the High courts of the nearest states. The list is given below. 

Union Territory/ies High Court jurisdiction
1. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Bombay
2. Andaman and Nicobar Islands Calcutta
3. Chandigarh

Punjab and Haryana

4. Lakshadweep Kerala
5. Puducherry Madras

Statement 3 is correct.

The creation of the union territories have a variety of reasons. For example, Delhi and Chandigarh were created under political and administrative considerations, Puducherry, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu on Cultural distinctiveness issue, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep for the strategic purposes and Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura and Arunachal Pradesh for the special treatment and care of the backward and tribal people.

Hence, there will be no uniformity in their administrative set-up. 

For example their executive heads are known by various designations administrator or lieutenant governor or chief commissioner. Moreover, Delhi and Puducherry have legislative assemblies while others do not. 

 Suggest corrections

Similar questions
View More

People also searched for
View More