The 42nd Chief Justice of India Justice Handyala Lakshmi Narayana Swamy Dattu took charge as the seventh Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission of India. 
Consider the following statements:
  1. NHRC is apex statutory watchdog of human rights in the country, constituted under The Protection of Human Rights Act, 2003.
  2. President appoints the Chairman and members of the NHRC on the recommendation of the high-powered committee headed by the Prime Minister.
  3. Chairperson of the NHRC need not necessarily be the former Chief Justice of India.
  4. NHRC is a multimember body consisting of Chairman and four members.
Which of the above statement(s) is/are correct?
  1. Only 1, 3 & 4
  2. Only 1, 2 & 4 
  3. Only 2, 3 & 4 
  4. All of the above 


The correct option is B Only 1, 2 & 4 
NHRC comprises of a Chairperson and four members. Only a retired Chief Justice of India can become chairman of NHRC. After their tenure, the chairman and members of NHRC are not eligible for further employment under the Central or a state government.
The Chairperson and the Members is appointed by the President of India on the recommendations of a Committee consisting of–
  1. The Prime Minister — Chairperson
  2. Speaker of the House of the People — Member
  3. Minister in-charge of the Union Ministry of Home Affairs — Member
  4. Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha — Member
  5. Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha — Member
  6. Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha — Member
No appointment of a Chairperson or a Member shall be invalid merely by reason of any vacancy of any member in the Committee.

 Suggest corrections