All prokaryotes are classified under Monera. (True or False)



In five kingdom classification all prokaryotes, that is, unicellular organisms without a well-defined nucleus are grouped under Monera.

  • The Monerans are unicellular organisms.
  • They contain 70S ribosomes.
  • The DNA is naked and is not bound by a nuclear membrane.
  • It lacks organelles like mitochondria, lysosomes, plastids, Golgi bodies, endoplasmic reticulum, centrosome, etc.
  • They reproduce asexually by binary fission or budding.
  • The cell wall is rigid and made up of peptidoglycan.
  • Flagellum serves as the locomotory organ.

Was this answer helpful?


0 (0)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class