Among the following, identify the block mountains of India. (a) Aravali (b) Vindhya (c) Satpura and Vindhya (d) None of the above

Among the given ranges, option (c) Satpura and Vindhya ranges come under Black mountains.

These two ranges lie in the central-western part of India. Black mountains, also called fault black mountains are the mountains formed from the cracks/faults evolved from the earth’s crust. These faults or cracks cause one section or part of the earth to rise and others to be depressed, forming block mountains.

Vindhya Ranges

  • The Vindhyan Range lies more or less parallel to the Narmada Valley.
  • It is in the east-west direction from Jobat in Gujarat to Sasaram in the state of Bihar over a distance of 1,200 km.
  • The approximate elevation of the Vindhyan Range is around 300 to 650 m.
  • Vindhya Range comprises horizontally bedded sedimentary rocks of ancient age.
  • Bharner and Kaimur hills are the continuations of Vindhya ranges in the eastward direction.
  • The Narmada valley consists of rivers Chambal, Betwa and Ken that rise within 30 km of the valley.

Satpura Range

  • Satpura range comprises a series of seven mountains. The word Sat means seven, and Pura means mountains.
  • It moves along in an east-west direction south of the Vindhyas and between the Narmada and the Tapi, almost parallel to these rivers.
  • The stretch of the range is about a distance of 900 km.
  • Some parts of the Satpuras have been folded and upheaved. These parts are regarded as structural uplift or ‘horst’.
  • The Dhupgarh mountain is around 1,350 m near Pachmarhi on Mahadev Hills is the highest peak.
  • The Amarkantak mountain, which is around 1,127 m, is another important peak.

Was this answer helpful?


4 (1)

Upvote (1)

Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class