Based on which factor are the elements classified into four blocks?

The elements are classified into four blocks depending on the type of orbital being filled, i.e., s, p, d and f blocks.

  • Based on the composition of electron orbitals, hydrogen, helium and Group 1 elements are classified as s-block elements, Group 13 through Group 18 elements p-block elements, Group 3 through Group 12 elements d-block elements, and lanthanoid and actinoid elements f-block elements.
  • S-Block, p-block, and Group 12 elements are called main group elements, and d-block elements other than Group 12 and f-block elements are called transition elements.
  • The d-block elements are called transition elements because they exhibit transitional behaviour between s-block and p-block elements.

Was this answer helpful?


5 (2)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class