Choose the odd one out from the following: i) Potato ii) Bamboo iii) Onion iv) Tulips

The correct option is i) Potato.

Potato is dicotyledonous. All others given are monocotyledonous.

Dicotyledonous and Monocotyledonous

Cotyledon refers to the first seed leaf, present in the embryo. If it is a single seed leaf, then it is categorised as monocots and if it is a pair of leaves then it is categorised as dicots. Depending on the number of cotyledons, seeds have been classified into two – monocotyledonous and dicotyledonous seeds.


  • Dicotyledons are also known as dicots. They are the crowds into which all the flowering plants or angiosperms were formerly divided. The name dicotyledons regard the seed as having two embryonic cotyledons. There are around 200,000 species of dicotyledons found to date. In dicotyledons, the embryo comprises an embryo axis and two cotyledons. Cotyledons generally have a swollen appearance as it acts as a food reserve for the developing seedling. The embryo axis has two ends.
  • Embryos of a monocotyledonous seed possess only one large cotyledon called scutellum. The scutellum is generally shield-shaped and is found alongside a side of the embryo axis. As in dicotyledons, the embryo axis of monocotyledons holds a shoot tip, plumule, enclosed in a sheath called coleoptile and a root tip, radicle, enclosed in coleorhiza. In a monocotyledonous seed, the endosperm is covered by a proteinous layer called the aleurone layer.

Was this answer helpful?


4.5 (1)

Upvote (1)

Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class