Describe the major peninsular rivers of India

Rivers in South India are called peninsular river.

Major peninsular rivers

Listed below are the rivers of South India or the peninsular rivers:

  • The Narmada
  • The Tapi
  • The Mahanadi
  • The Godavari
  • The Krishna
  • The river Kaveri and tributaries Arkavathy, Shimsha, Hemavati, Kapila, Shimsha, Honnuhole, Amaravati, Lakshmana Kabini, Lokapavani, Bhavani, Noyyal, and Tirtha.

Facts about Peninsular rivers

  • These rivers are seasonal.
  • The flow of these rivers is based on rainfall.
  • These rivers have a smaller basin as compared with the Himalayan rivers.
  • These rivers are considered as old rivers.
  • Most rivers of peninsular region originate in the Western Ghats and flow towards the Bay of Bengal. Godavari and Narmada are the main river system of peninsular rivers.
  • These rivers have shorter and shallower courses as compared to Himalayan rivers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Free Class