Explain how animals in Vertebrata are classified into further subgroups.

Animals in Vertebrata are classified into five classes:

(i) Class Pisces: This class includes fish such as Scoliodon, tuna, rohu, shark, etc. These animals mostly live in water. Hence, they have special adaptive features such as a streamlined body, a tail for movement, gills, etc., to live in water.

(ii) Class Amphibia: It includes frogs, toads, and salamanders. These animals have a dual mode of life. In the larval stage, the respiratory organs are gills, but respiration occurs through the lungs or skin in the adult stage. They lay eggs in water.

(iii) Class Reptilia: It includes reptiles such as lizards, snakes, turtles, etc. They usually creep or crawl on land. The body of a reptile is covered with dry and cornified skin to prevent water loss. They lay eggs on land.

(iv) Class Aves: It includes all birds such as sparrow, pigeon, crow, etc. Most of them have feathers. Their forelimbs are modified into wings for flight, while hind limbs are modified for walking and clasping. They lay eggs.

(v) Class Mammalia: It includes various animals that have milk-producing glands to nourish their young ones. Some lay eggs, and some give birth to young ones. In addition, their skin has hair as well as sweat glands to regulate their body temperature.

Artcles to refer

  1. Taxonomic Hierarchy
  2. Invertebrate And Vertebrate Difference


Was this answer helpful?


2.5 (3)

Upvote (7)

Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class