How many city corporations are there in Tamil nadu? (a) 12 (b) 15 (c) 18 (d) 16

There are total 15 municipal corporations in the state of Tamil Nadu. City Municipal Corporations are the local governing bodies of those cities in that particular state.

Various Municipal corporations in Tamil Nadu state are listed below

  • Chennai – Capital city of Tamil Nadu
  • Madurai
  • Salem
  • Tirunelvelli
  • Tiruppur
  • Erode
  • Vellore
  • Toothkudi also referred as Tuticorin
  • Thanjavur
  • Dindigul
  • Nagercoil
  • Hosur
  • Avadi

Tamil Nadu, stands in the 11th position in India area wise. As of this year 2020, the state comprises of 38 districts, 15 municipal corporations and 146 municipalities. On 14 February 2019, the state government announced in the Assembly that Hosur and Nagercoil will have the new municipal corporations. Avadi upgraded a municipal corporation on 19 June 2019. Avadi is the most recent city having been proclaimed as the municipal corporation for that city.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Free Class