How many elements belong to lanthanoid series?

The fourteen elements following the lanthanum belong to the lanthanoid series.

Lanthanide series

In the periodic table, along the bottom of the periodic table of elements, there are two rows, the first of which represents the lanthanides. Composed of lanthanum and the 14 elements of the lanthanide series, the lanthanides were once called the rare earth metals. The lanthanide series is usually combined with lanthanum, which has an atomic number of 57, under lanthanide’s general heading. As their name indicates, members of the lanthanide series share certain characteristics with lanthanum; hence the collective term lanthanides. These 15 elements, along with their chemical symbols, are:

  • Lanthanum (La)
  • Cerium (Ce)
  • Praseodymium (Pr)
  • Neodymium (Nd)
  • Promethium (Pm)
  • Samarium (Sm)
  • Europium (Eu)
  • Gadolinium (Gd)
  • Terbium (Tb)
  • Dysprosium (Dy)
  • Holmium (Ho)
  • Erbium (Er)
  • Thulium (Tm)
  • Ytterbium (Yb)
  • Lutetium (Lu)


  • Lanthanides react rapidly with hot water, or more slowly with cold water, to form hydrogen gas.
  • Most of the lanthanide elements are bright and silvery in appearance.
  • When a lanthanide reacts with another element to form a compound, it usually loses three of its outer electrons to form what are called tripositive ions, or atoms with an electric charge of +3. This is the most stable ion for lanthanides.

Was this answer helpful?


3 (2)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




App Now