How many planets does the Solar System consist of?


The solar system is very huge and consists of many objects held together by the gravitational force. The sun is the centre and the biggest object in the solar system. There are 8 planets in our solar system.

Solar system

Our Solar System and the planets in it

  • Our solar system consists of an average star we call the Sun.
  • The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.
  • It includes the satellites of the planets; numerous comets, asteroids, and meteoroids and the interplanetary medium.
  • The Sun contains 99.85% of all the matter in the Solar System.
  • The solar system also includes the Kuiper Belt that lies past Neptune’s orbit.

Was this answer helpful?


4 (7)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




App Now