How many types of motion does the Earth have?

There are 2 types of motion: Rotation and revolution.


A rotation is a circular movement of an object around a centre of rotation.

The spinning of the Earth around its axis is called ‘rotation’. The axis has an angle of 231/2∘ and is perpendicular to the plane of Earth’s orbit. Which means, Earth is tilted on its axis, and because of this tilt, the northern and southern hemispheres lean in a direction away from the Sun. The rotation of the Earth divides it into a lit-up half and a dark half, which gives rise to day and night.


The revolution is referred to as an orbital revolution. It is used when one body moves around another, while rotation is used to mean the movement around the axis.

The movement of the Earth around the Sun in a fixed path is called a revolution. The Earth revolves from west to east i.e, in the anticlockwise direction. The Earth completes one revolution around the Sun in one year or precisely in 365.242 days. The revolution speed of the earth is 30 km/s-1.

Was this answer helpful?


4 (7)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class