Name the group of islands lying in the Arabian sea

Lakshadweep is the island that lies in the Arabian sea.


  • After Sikkim, Lakshadweep is the next smallest populated place in India
  • Lakshadweep is India’s smallest Union Territory. (Our country Indian consists of 28 states and 8 union territories. Union territory is not an independent unit but is run by the administrators appointed by the President of India)
  • The Kavaratti is the capital of the Union Territory Lakshadweep in India
  • Lakshadweep is the island group of India that has coral origin
  • They are considered as kind of coral reefs that are known as Atolls which is circular or horse-shoe shaped reefs.
  • Lakshadweep is an archipelago of 36 islands, scattered over approximately 78,000 square km of the Arabian Sea, 200-440 km off the south-western coast of India
  • The population in this island is approximately 65,000

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Free Class