Name the major physical divisions of India.

The major physical divisions of India are

  • The Himalayan Mountains
  • The Northern Plains
  • The Peninsular Plateau
  • The Indian Desert
  • The Coastal Plains
  • The Islands

Features of the physical divisions of India

The Himalayan mountains

They are divided into three main parallel ranges.

  • The northernmost is the Great Himalaya or Himadri. The world’s highest peaks are located in this range.
  • Middle Himalaya or Himachal is located to the south of Himadri.
  • The Shiwalik is the southernmost range.

Northern Indian plains

These plains lie to the south of the Himalayas. They are mainly levelled and flat.

Peninsular plateau

It is located to the south of northern plains. It is triangular in shape. The relief is completely uneven. This is a region that comprises of various hill ranges and valleys.

Great Indian desert

The Great Indian Desert is located in the western part of India. It is a dry, hot and sandy stretch of land. It has very little vegetation.

Coastal plains

The plain is situated to the West of the Western Ghats and the East of Eastern Ghats. Western coastal plains are very narrow. The eastern Coastal plains are much broader in comparison with western ghats.


Two groups of islands also form part of the country. Lakshadweep Islands are located in the Arabian Sea and the Andaman and the Nicobar Islands is located in the sea of Bay of Bengal. These two islands are the only islands in the country.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Free Class