Name the part of an eye that contains photoreceptors.

This is the innermost layer that contains the rods and cone cells, which are called the photoreceptors since they are sensitive to light.


The retina contains the cells that sense light (photoreceptors) and the blood vessels that nourish them. The most sensitive part of the retina is a small area called the macula, which has millions of tightly packed photoreceptors (the type called cones). Each photoreceptor is linked to a nerve fibre. The nerve fibres from the photoreceptors are bundled together to form the optic nerve. The optic disk, the first part of the optic nerve, is at the back of the eye.

  • The photoreceptors in the retina convert the image into electrical signals carried to the brain by the optic nerve.
  • There are two main types of photoreceptors: cones and rods.
  • Cones are responsible for sharp, detailed central vision and colour vision
  • Rods are responsible for night and peripheral (side) vision.

Was this answer helpful?


5 (2)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




App Now