On what basis are the biomes identified?

An extensive ecosystem on land having distinct types of vegetation and animal life is called a biome. The biomes are identified based on plants.

What is a biome?

A biome is a large community of vegetation and wildlife adapted to a specific climate. There are five major types of biomes: aquatic, grassland, forest, desert, and tundra, though some of these biomes can be further divided into more specific categories, such as freshwater, marine, savanna, tropical rainforest, temperate rainforest, and taiga.

  • The aquatic biome consists of any part of Earth that is covered with water. This includes freshwater and saltwater.
  • The forest biome is the largest and has various plants, trees, animals, insects, and microscopic organisms.
  • The desert biome has one major distinguishing characteristic, the fact that it has very little vegetation.
  • Tundra biomes are the coldest places on Earth. The grassland biome is made of rolling hills of various grasses.

Was this answer helpful?


5 (1)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class