What does the solar system consist of?


The sun and the celestial bodies that revolve around it form the solar system. These include the sun itself, Planets, Comets, asteroids and meteors. Celestial objects are naturally occurring physical entities that have been demonstrated to exist in the observable universe. Our solar system includes Sun, planets, satellites etc. but we have other members who also play a very important role in the existence of the universe the way it exists today.

Our Solar System and the planets in it


These are big chunks of rock or metal that are mostly found orbiting the Sun between Mars and Jupiter.


Satellites are objects that revolve around planets and are also part of the solar system. The Earth’s satellite is the Moon.


Comets are small irregularly shaped objects made up of ice. They usually come from the outermost reaches of the solar system beyond Neptune from a region known as the Kuiper Belt.

Dwarf planets

Dwarf planets are objects smaller than planets and larger than asteroids that orbit the sun at various places. The nearest dwarf planet to us is Ceres which lies in the asteroid belt.


There are eight planets in our solar system. In order of their distance from the sun, they are:

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus and
  8. Neptune

Refer more

  1. What are asteroids?
  2. Name all the planets along with their moons
  3. Which planet is known as the dwarf planet?

Was this answer helpful?


0 (0)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class