What are the different stages of digestion?

Digestion and its processes

The processes of digestion include six activities: ingestion, propulsion, mechanical or physical digestion, chemical digestion, absorption, and defecation. The first of these processes, ingestion, refers to the entry of food into the alimentary canal through the mouth. The mouth is the beginning of the digestive tract. In fact, digestion starts here as soon as you take the first bite of a meal. Chewing breaks the food into pieces that are more easily digested, while saliva mixes with food to begin the process of breaking it down into a form your body can absorb and use.

Stages of food processing

  • Ingestion and Propulsion: Food processing begins with the first bite.
  • Digestion.
  • Absorption of Nutrients.
  • Egestion: Eliminating Wastes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *