Types of Radioactivity

There are three types of radioactivity and they are:

  • Alpha decay: An alpha particle is a helium nucleus \(He_{2}^{4}\). When a nucleus undergoes alpha decay, it transforms into a different nucleus by emitting alpha particles.
  • Beta decay: Beta decay is a spontaneous process in which the nucleus undergoes decay by emitting either electrons or positron. Beta decay can be either beta plus decay or beta minus decay.
  • Gamma decay: The energy difference between the energy states in a nucleus is responsible for gamma decay.

Was this answer helpful?


5 (1)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class