What are the three types of papillae?

The dorsal surface of the mammalian tongue is covered with four kinds of papillae, fungiform, circumvallate, foliate and filiform papillae. With the exception of the filiform papillae, these types of papillae contain taste buds and are known as the gustatory papillae. Fungiform papillae, which are mushroom-shaped structures, are located towards the front of the tongue. Tiny bumps called papillae to give the tongue its rough texture. Thousands of taste buds cover the surfaces of the papillae.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Free Class