What is the other name for The Great Himalayas? A) Himadri B) Karakoram C) Himachal D) Siwalik

The correct answer is Option (A) – Himadri

  1. The Himalayas consist of three parallel ranges -the Shivalik hills, which comprise the foothills, the Lesser Himalayas called the Himachal, the Greater Himalayas known as the Himadri.
  2. The Great Himalayan range is also called Himadri.  The world’s highest peak, Mount Everest, and other highest peaks like  K2, Nanga Parbat, Kangchenjunga etc are part of the Greater Himalayan range.
  3. The Karakoram is a mountain range spanning the borders of China, India, Pakistan, with the northwest extremity of the range extending to Afghanistan and Tajikistan.
  4. A large part of Shivaliks lies in Himachal Pradesh.The outermost range of the Himalayas is called the Outer Himalayas or Shiwaliks.

Was this answer helpful?


5 (2)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class