EWS Full Form

What is the full form of EWS?

The full form of EWS is the Economically Weaker Section. The term EWS relates to some households or persons with earnings below a certain threshold. Although other financial considerations may determine the economic insecurity of a citizen/household, income is the dominant criterion. In the field of public policy, the word must be understood in the sense of the Preamble to India’s Constitution; it demands economic, political and social justice.

In India, eligibility for the EWS certificate is not confined to a single annual income factor. For the Economically Weaker Section in India, the Union Council of Ministers approved a reservation of 10% in government jobs and educational institutions in the General category on 7th January 2019.

EWS certificate will be issued based on the following factors:

  • Annual income
  • Property
  • Residential flat, etc.

Eligibility criteria to get an EWS certificate

An individual is eligible for an EWS certificate.

  1. Individual household income is under Rs. 8 lakh per annum and does not belong to reservation categories such as SC, ST or OBC.
  2. The family must own more than 5 acres of agricultural land.
  3. The residential plot area is smaller than 100/200 sq. Yards.
  4. The flat residential area is below 1000 sq. Ft.

Document required to get EWS certificate

Applicants are asked to have all the necessary documents mentioned below while applying for an EWS certificate.

  • ID proof
  • Property or land documents
  • Residential proof
  • Adhaar card
  • Self-declaration form
  • Photograph (passport size)
  • Other relevant documents.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.