JEE Full Form - Joint Entrance Examination

What is the Full Form of JEE?

The full form of JEE is the Joint Entrance Examination. JEE is a national-level entrance exam for engineering courses that takes place every year throughout India. It is a test that helps students to secure a seat in different engineering colleges, depending on their rank in this exam.

JEE examination consists of two different tests

  • JEE Main
  • JEE Advanced

Previously, the AIEEE test was carried out for enrollment in India’s engineering colleges but is now replaced by the JEE-Main exam, and IIT-JEE has become the JEE-Advanced test. Applicants passing the JEE Main examination will participate in the JEE Advanced Test.

Eligibility Criteria for JEE

For JEE Main Test

  • The requirement for this test is to have obtained marks in class 12 (CBSE, ISC, board, etc.) of at least 75 per cent.
  • Else, students should be in the top 20 percentile of their Class 12 examination undertaken by their committee.
  • The eligibility requirements for SC or ST applicants are to obtain scores of at least 65 per cent in their Class 12 board exams.

For JEE Advance Test

  • A student must get a rank of less than 2,50,000 in JEE Main exam to show up in JEE Advanced.
  • Only those candidates would have an opportunity to gain a seat in IIT colleges for courses.

About JEE

  • JEE is composed of two exams; JEE Main and JEE advanced. The JEE Advanced test is regarded as one of the hardest entrance tests for the undergraduate level.
  • JEE Main is the eligibility exam that allows applicants to appear in JEE advance test and ultimately leads to enrollment into NITs, IITs, etc.
  • JEE Main test is carried out in two sessions in a year, and the number of admission attempts in a specific academic session is assumed as one. Applicants can choose one paper or both. The exam is conducted online.
  • The duration of the examination is three hours, composed of three subjects, and it consists of 30 MCQs (Multiple choice questions) related to Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. For the wrong answer, there is a negative score.
  • Paper 1 is for BE and B.Tech enrollment, Paper 2 is for B.Arch enrollment, and Paper 3 is for B.Planning courses.
  • The applicants can participate for three consecutive years for the JEE Main test but can only attend for two consecutive years for JEE Advanced exams.
  • The cut-off score for JEE main is decided by the exam conducting body NTA (National Testing Agency) and it varies depending on the category, such as General, OBC, SC & St and PWD.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.