What is the Full form of NDRF?

The full form of NDRF is the National Disaster Response Force. As the title suggests, it is a specialised force set up for a rapid and specialised response to a natural or man-made crisis including earthquake, flood, landslide, and so on. under section 44 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

As of now, it consists of 12 battalions (12 out of 16 are operational), and each of them consists of 1149 personnel. These battalions are based in various states of India. In response to tragic circumstances, the NDRF staff are trained and prepared. The Chairman of the NDMA (National Disaster Management Authority) is the Indian Prime Minister. An IPS officer on a deputation basis is the Director-General of the NDRF. Each battalion is eligible to provide rescue teams, like engineers, technicians, electricians, dog squads, and medical / paramedics, with 45 staff and 18 self-contained professional search personnel each. Battalions in different states of India are listed below.

  • Assam
  • Odisha
  • West Bengal
  • Gujarat
  • Maharashtra
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Uttar Pradesh (2)
  • Punjab
  • Bihar
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Arunachal Pradesh

Structure of NDRF

  • The chairman of the NDMA is the Prime Minister of India himself.
  • The head of the NDRF, who is an IPS officer based on deputation, is appointed as the Director-General.
  • For now, there are 12 functional battalions in the NDRF, each of which comprises 1149 personnel.
  • It is formed along paramilitary lines & is staffed by three Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), three Border Security Force (BSF), two Indo-Tibetan Border Police(ITBP), two Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) & two Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) from the Paramilitary Force of India.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.