What are the 5 major biomes on earth?

There are five major types of biomes on earth – 

  1. Aquatic – include both freshwater and marine biomes. Freshwater biomes are bodies of water surrounded by land like ponds, rivers, and lakes. Marine biomes include the ocean, coral reefs, and estuaries.
  2. Grassland – open regions that are dominated by grass and have a warm, dry climate are grasslands. There are two types of grasslands namely tropical grasslands or Savannas and temperate grasslands. Savannas are found closer to the equator whereas Temperate grasslands are found further away from the equator.
  3. Forest – dominated by trees and contain much of the world’s terrestrial biodiversity, including insects, birds, and mammals. The three major forest biomes are temperate forests, tropical forests, and boreal forests (also known as the taiga). 
  4. Desert – dry areas with less than 50 centimeters rainfall per year. It can be either cold or hot, although most of them are found in subtropical areas. Not as much biodiversity found in deserts as in other biomes.
  5. Tundra – extremely inhospitable conditions, have a low amount of precipitation, as well as poor quality soil nutrients and short summers. It does not have much biodiversity and vegetation is simple, including shrubs, grasses, mosses, and lichens. 

Further Readings – 

  1. Coral reef
  2. Great Indian Desert | Thar Desert
  3. Tropical RainForest 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *