The Rule of British Company

Until the British invaded India, India was ruled by the Mauryas, Delhi Sultanate, Mughals, Marathas, Rajputs and other Indian rulers. Once the British got permission to do business in India, they defeated Indian rulers and started their rule.

Vasco da Gama was the first Portuguese to visit India in 1498. He reached India by sea and took back spices, fabrics and many other items to his country. Once after his invasion, many people from different countries like Europe, Germany, France, etc., started invading India to expand their business. There was a huge demand for Indian goods in many countries worldwide because of the purity and lesser price.

Captain Hawkins was the first person to ask permission for business in India. Later, during 1612, Mughal permitted the East India Company to do business in India.

As the Mughal Empire became weak, the East India Company took this opportunity and established its rule in India. Later the East India Company maintained their dominance and established the British Empire.

The corruption increased, and various treaties and agreements were signed with local rulers. This destroyed the Indian agricultural system, business, industries and overall, the Indian society suffered from poverty, starvation and unemployment.

Struggle of 1857

Later, the policies of the British East India Company made farmers, landlords, rulers, soldiers, and other business people angry. Hence, they all fought against the East India Company policies in 1857.

The economic cause for the revolt of 1857 was the British policy of exploiting India economically.

The great rulers of the revolt in 1857 were: Mangal Pandey, Nana Saheb, Rani Laxmi Bai, Bahadur Shah Zafar, Veer Kunwar Singh, Begum Hazrat Mahal and other soldiers of Meerut.

Stay tuned to BYJU’S for more information on NIOS, syllabus, notes, along with its important questions and solutions.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.