NIOS Senior Secondary Course Syllabus for Introduction to Law

Introduction to Law is an essential subject devoted to studying basic legal knowledge, skills, legal processes, and practices.

Introduction to Law is the study of the object of law and nature of law. A course in Introduction to Law at the senior secondary level helps students analyse the basic terminologies of law, the system of rules, objective of the law, basic theory and principles of law and more.

The syllabus for the senior secondary Group E – Introduction to Law is divided into seven units and twenty-seven chapters. The total duration of the lesson plan is for 240 hours, which has been distributed according to the topics, subtopics.

NIOS Senior Secondary Course Syllabus for Introduction to Law

Students should analyse the syllabus properly before they start with their preparations.

Check the links below for more information about each chapter in the NIOS senior secondary course syllabus for group E – Introduction to Law.

To view the chapter details, click on the relevant link:

Unit 1: Concept of Law

Chapter 1: Meaning of Law

Chapter 2: Classification of Legal System

Chapter 3: Personal Law I: Hindu Law and Muslim Law

Chapter 4: Personal Law II: Christian, Parsi and Jewish Law

Unit 2: Functions and Techniques of Law

Chapter 5: Normative Functions of Law and Social Control

Chapter 6: Principles of Natural Justice

Chapter 7: Techniques of Law and Remedies I

Chapter 8: Techniques of Law and Remedies II

Unit 3: Classification of Law

Chapter 9: Territorial Law

Chapter10: Civil Law and Criminal Law

Chapter 11: Substantive Law and Procedural or Adjective Law

Chapter 12: Public Law and Private Law

Unit 4: Indian Court System and Methods of Resolution of Disputes

Chapter 13: Indian Judicial System

Chapter 14: Justice Delivery System

Chapter 15: Alternative Dispute Resolution Mechanisms

Chapter 16: Legal Services and Lok Adalat

Unit 5: The Constitution of India (I)

Chapter 17: Constitution and Its Nature

Chapter 18: Constitutionalism and Preamble

Chapter 19: Fundamental Rights and Duties

Chapter 20: Directive Principles of State Policy

Unit 6: The Constitution of India (II)

Chapter 21: The Executive

Chapter 22: The Legislature

Chapter 23: The Judiciary

Unit 7(A): Environmental Law, Role of Citizens, Police and Administration

Chapter 24: Environmental Law

Chapter 25: Sustainable Development

Chapter 26: General Principles of Environmental Law

Chapter 27: Contemporary Developments

Unit 7(B): Law Relating to Consumer Protection and Right to Information

Chapter 24: Consumer Protection

Chapter 25: Unfair Trade Practices

Chapter 26: Consumer Redressal Agencies

Chapter 27: Consumer Activism


The last section – unit 7, has two options, 7 A and 7 B, each with four chapters. Here students have to choose anyone.

We, at BYJU’S, provide the detailed curriculum for the NIOS senior secondary course and the mark-wise weightage for every chapter to have a good idea of the exam pattern.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.