IEO Class 6 Syllabus

The International English Olympiad (IEO) is a competitive test for students in grades one to twelve. The Science Olympiad Foundation’s IEO test is a grammar competition held in partnership with the British Council. Previously, IEO was a single-level test; however, it was modified to a two-level exam in 2017-18. The first level of the test is organised in the respective schools of the participants during school hours. Level 2 is conducted for students of Class 3 to Class 12.

The SOF IEO exam is a 60-minute objective-type test that consists of 35 questions for classes 1 to 4 and 50 questions for classes 5 to 12. The SOF International English Olympiad Syllabus is based on the school curriculum. We will discuss the IEO Class 6 Syllabus in detail.

Exam Highlights

Name of the Exam SOF IEO
IEO Full-Form International English Olympiad
Organization Name Science Olympiad Foundation
Classes For Classes 1-10
Negative Marking No
Total No. of Questions
  • Class 1 to 4 – 40 questions
  • Class 5 to 12 – 60 questions
Duration 60 Minutes

IEO Syllabus for Class 6

  • Total number of questions – 50
  • Time – 1 hour

The syllabus for IEO Class 6 is divided into four sections, each of which includes the topics listed below.

Section 1 Nouns, Verbs, Pronouns, Adjectives, Adverbs, Articles, Prepositions, Conjunctions, Jumbled Words and Punctuation, Narration, Voices, Tenses, etc. Spellings, Collocations, Idioms, Phrasal verbs, Antonyms and Synonyms.
Section 2 Search for and retrieve information from various text types, such as Brochures, News headlines, Itineraries, Informal letters and Formal letters, etc. Acquire a broad understanding of and look for particular information in Time-tables, Short narratives, Diary entries, News stories, Messages, Poster Making, etc.
Section 3 Ability to understand situation-based variations in functions, such as disagreement and agreement, Refusals, Apologies, Requests, etc. and also distinct differences in the use of conjunctions.
Section 4 Higher-order thinking questions include the syllabus as per 1st, 2nd and 3rd sections.

IEO Level 1 Exam Pattern for each Section for Classes 1 to 4

Topics No. of Questions (Marks Per Question) Total Marks
Word and Structure Knowledge 30 (1 mark) 30
Spoken and Written Expression
Achievers Section 5 (2 marks) 10
Grand Total 35 40

IEO Level 2 Exam Pattern for each Section for Class 1 to 4

Topics No. of Questions (Marks Per Question) Total Marks
Word and Structure Knowledge 20 (1 mark) 20
Reading 10 (1 mark) 10
Achievers Section 5 (2 marks) 10
Grand Total 35 40

Tips for Preparing for the IEO Examination

  • Examine the whole curriculum for resources to learn the various IEO subjects. 70% of the questions in the first level are from the prior class’s curriculum.
  • Grammar takes a lot of work, and you need to know how to use grammar in unusual ways. Working hard and covering every area will help you to grasp the principles. It will give you the confidence and skills to attempt any English question.
  • Understanding difficult English problems requires a calm, collected, and relaxed mind. Do not overwork yourself in the days leading up to your tests. Get good sleep the night before the exam.
  • Solve previous years’ question papers to get a clear understanding of the exam pattern and marks.
  • Prepare a timetable. Follow it strictly.

Frequently Asked Questions on IEO Class 6 Syllabus

Is there a negative marking in IEO?

In the IEO test paper, all questions are required to be attempted, however there is no negative marking. In the logical and English portions, each question is worth one mark, however in the achiever’s section, each question is worth two points (for grades 1–4) and three marks (for grades 5–8). (for class 5 to 12).

Who conducts IEO?

The International English Olympiad [IEO] is held yearly across the world by the Science Olympiad Foundation [SOF] in partnership with the British Council. There are two levels to the test.

To study for the IEO 2021-22 test, which books should I use?

For IEO exam preparation, you can use NCERT books recommended by CBSE/ICSE and state boards.

How many levels are there in IEO?

SOF IEO is divided into two levels, with students qualifying for level 2 after passing level 1.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *