RBSE Solutions For Class 10 Social Science Chapter 3: Retaliation and Struggle of British Empire | Textbook Important Questions & Answers

The Western countries discovered colonies in different countries to fulfil their economic goals, and later on to set up their empire at these places. British Colonial Era in India (Bharat) began with treachery, atrocity and exploitation. From ancient times, India (Bharat) was a prosperous nation. Therefore, along with the world’s other countries, the Britishers always eyed India (Bharat) and were always in search of opportunities to exploit. RBSE Class 10 Social Science Chapter 3 textbook solutions are prepared by our subject experts to provide accurate and easy solutions for all the problems covered in the RBSE textbooks. By going through these RBSE Class 10 solutions of Social Science, students will get to know a better way of representing their answers, which will help them in scoring high marks in the annual exam.

RBSE Class 10 Social Science Chapter 3 Very Short Answer Type Questions

Q1. When was the East India Company established?

Answer: The East India Company was established on 23rd September 1600 A.D.

Q2. When and between whom did the Treaty of Surjigaon take place?

Answer: Treaty of Surjigaon was held on 30th December 1803 A.D between English and Scindia when Scindia was defeated in battle of Lalwadi.

Q3. Which region did Tipu Sultan rule?

Answer: Tipu Sultan ruled the Mysore region.

Q4. When was Amritsar treaty held?

Answer: Amritsar treaty was held on 25th April, 1809 A.D.

Q5. Why were the Sanyasis dissatisfied with the Britishers?

Answer: Sanyasis were dissatisfied with the Britishers due to the ban on visiting pilgrimage places. Sanyasis did pilgrimages regularly along agriculture.

RBSE Class 10 Social Science Chapter 3 Short Answer Type Questions

Q6. Describe the First Anglo – Maratha War.

Answer: From 1775 AD to 1782 AD clashes took place between the Britishers and Marathas. In this struggle, the British army was defeated by the united Maratha army and they had to sign the humiliating Treaty of Badgaon in 1779 AD, according to which the Britishers were to give back the regions they had won previously from the Marathas and hand over Raghunath Rao to the Pune court. Besides, they had to pay Rs 41,000 as war damages.

Q7. Why were the Praja Mandals formed in Rajasthan?

Answer: The most significant achievement of Praja Mandal was that it led the women out of their homes and made them stand equally with men. Many women started to participate actively in these movements and were arrested. Women folk participated in the movements organized by Jaipur Praja Mandal. Ramadevi Deshpande, Sushila Devi, Indira Devi, Anjana Devi Chaudhary, etc. were among the prominent women of Jaipur Praja Mandal. At the time of Quit India Movement, Gorja Devi, Savitri Devi Bhati, Sirekanwal Vyas, Rajkaur Vyas. etc. were arrested in Jodhpur, while in Udaipur, Manikyalal Verma’s wife Narayan Devi went to jail along with a six month old son. The workers of Praja Mandal also gave attention to social reforms, spread of education, abolishing beggary and welfare of the dalits and tribals. These associations started movements and struggles due to which spirit of nationalism was infused among people who were suffering from atrocities committed by the royals and feudals. Before 1938 AD, direct coordination between the public of princely states and the national movement was absent, but after the formation of Praja Mandals, the local movements became a part of the national movement during the Quit India Movement of 1942.

Q8. What were the consequences of the Fourth Anglo-Mysore War?

Answer: In 1798 AD, Lord Wellesly came to India (Bharat) as the Governor of the East India Company. Wellesley was an imperialistic Governor general. He decided to eliminate Tipu completely or to dominate him completely. To fulfill this objective, he used the ploy of Subsidiary Alliance. Tipu Sultan rejected this Subsidiary Alliance. In April 1799 AD, he started a campaign against Tipu. The Srirangapatnam fort was occupied on 4th May, 1799 and Mysore lost its independence. Tipu attained martyrdom while fighting the Britishers.

Q9. Why did the Indians oppose Simon Commission?

Answer: For evaluating the working of reforms of the Indian (Bhartiya) government in 1919 AD, the British government formed a Commission in 1927 AD under the Chairmanship of Sir John Simon. There were 7 members in the commission but none of them was an Indian. When this commission reached Mumbai on 3rd February, 1928 AD, it was rigidly opposed by the people. In Lahore, it was initially opposed under the leadership of Lala Lajpat Rai. The police lathi charged the mob, consequently Lala Lajpat Rai suffered injuries on head and died within a month. This commission gave its report in 1930. There was no mention of establishment of colonial self rule in the report.

Q10. When and how was the Indian National Congress formed?

Answer: Indian National Congress was the outcome of the political development which took place in India (Bharat) after 1858 AD. It was formed by Allen Octavian Hume, a retired British officer of Indian Civil Services. The objective of British government behind its formation was to collect information about the mindset of the Indians (Bhartiyas) and to form such an association in which the political leaders get a chance for venting their anger, so that the British government could prevent them from making concerted efforts to oust the Britishers from the country. On 28th December 1885 AD, its first meeting was held at Gokul Das Tejpal Sanskrit College in Mumbai under the Presidency of Womesh Chandra Banerjee. In it 72 representatives participated.

Four objectives behind the formation of the Congress were highlighted in the meeting as:

  • To provide an opportunity of mutual interaction to people who were employed in the cause or nation’s development.
  • Discussing the programmes for the coming years.
  • Keeping full faith and loyalty towards the British Empire and opposing the government’s works which are performed against the principles framed by the Parliament of England.
  • This organization will indirectly take the form of Indian (Bhartiya) Parliament and give a suitable answer to the belief of the Britishers that the representatives elected by India (Bharat) are incapable of handling the administration. The period of Congress can be divided into two phases. The first phase from 1885 to 1905 AD is regarded as the period of Moderate politics or political beggary. The second phase from 1905 to 1919 AD is regarded as the period of Extremists or extremist politics.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class