Complete List - 7 Continents and 5 Oceans

Any of the several large landmasses is known as the Continent. This article will give a complete list of the 7 continents and 5 oceans of planet earth. It will also provide information about the continents and oceans.

7 Continents

The 7 continents are given below:

  1. Asia
  2. Europe
  3. Africa
  4. North America
  5. South America
  6. Australia
  7. Antarctica

5 Oceans

The 5 Oceans are given below:

  1. Pacific Ocean
  2. Atlantic Ocean
  3. Indian Ocean
  4. Arctic Ocean
  5. Antarctic Ocean

Continent – Asia

  • Asia is not only the largest continent by population, but also the largest continent by size.
  • Although Asia is the largest continent by size and population, the African continent has more countries than Asia.
  • Asia has some of the world’s largest countries in the world.
  • China is the largest country in Asia.
  • India is the second largest country in Asia and the world’s seventh largest country.
  • The world’s two largest countries by population are China and India. Both these countries are located in Asia.

Continent – Africa

  • The continent of Africa has 54 countries.
  • Africa is the second-largest continent in the world.,
  • Africa is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea, the Red Sea, the Indian Ocean, and the Atlantic Ocean.
  • The largest country by land area in Africa is Algeria and the second largest country in Africa is the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  • Nigeria is the most populous country of Africa.
  • The least populous and smallest country of Africa is Seychelles.

Continent – Europe

  • Europe is bordered by Asia to its East, Mediterranean Sea to its South, Arctic Ocean to its north, and Atlantic Ocean to its west.
  • The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe.

Continent – South America

  • South America is predominantly in the Southern hemisphere.
  • There are 12 sovereign countries in South America.
  • Brazil is the largest country in South America.
  • South America is connected to North America through the Isthmus of Panama.

Continent – Antarctica

  • The southernmost continent on earth is Antarctica.
  • Earth’s south pole is located in Antarctica.
  • Antarctica is twice the size of the Australian continent.
  • The 5th largest continent is Antarctica.
  • Antarctica is mainly a polar desert.
  • Around 30 countries govern Antarctica, all of which are signatories of the Antarctic Treaty System of 1959.
  • As per the terms of the treaty, it is prohibited to dispose of nuclear wastes, conduct nuclear explosions, mining, and military activities.
  • There will be around 5000 research scientists during the summer months in Antarctica.

Continent – Australia

  • Australia is the largest country in the Oceania region.
  • Australia is the world’s sixth largest country.
  • Australia’s economy is highly developed.
  • It has diverse landscapes such as mountain ranges, tropical rainforests, and deserts.

Pacific Ocean

  • The largest and deepest of the earth’s oceans is the Pacific Ocean.
  • The deepest point in the World is the Mariana trench, which is located in the Pacific Ocean.
  • The Pacific Ocean covers around 46% of the Earth’s water surface.
  • The surface area of the Pacific Ocean is larger than the total land surface of the earth.

Atlantic Ocean

  • The Atlantic Ocean is the World’s second largest ocean.
  • The Atlantic Ocean covers around 29% of earth’s water surface area.

Indian Ocean

  • The Indian Ocean is the third largest ocean.
  • The Indian Ocean constitutes around 20% of the earth’s water surface.
  • The Indian Ocean is bounded by Australia to its East, Africa to the West, and Asia to the North.
  • To the south of the Indian Ocean is the Antarctic Ocean.

Antarctic Ocean

  • It is the world’s second smallest ocean

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What continent is Russia?

Russia is part of Europe. Although geographically the major part of Russia is located in Asia, the capital of Russia is located in Europe.

What continent is Fiji?

Fiji is an island nation. Fiji is part of the Australia/Oceania continent.

Is Antarctica a continent?

Yes, Antarctica is a continent. The 5th largest continent is Antarctica. Around 30 countries govern Antarctica, all of which are signatories of the Antarctic Treaty System of 1959.

Which is the smallest continent?

Australia is the smallest continent.

What is Antarctica known as?

Antarctica is known as the Frozen continent.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.