Capital City of Arunachal Pradesh - An Overview

Itanagar is the capital city of Arunachal Pradesh.

This article will throw light on the details regarding the capital city of Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar, as well as information about the state of Arunachal Pradesh.

Itanagar – Important Details

  • Itanagar is not only the capital city of Arunachal Pradesh, but also the largest city in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The seat of the Gauhati High Court permanent bench at Naharlagun is located in Itanagar.
  • The Government of Arunachal Pradesh is based out of Itanagar.
  • The Legislative Assembly of Arunachal Pradesh is located in Itanagar.
  • Different tribes of Arunachal Pradesh who live in Arunachal Pradesh are the Nyishis, Galo, Tagin, Apatani, and Adi.
  • The average literacy rate of Itanagar is 66.95%.
  • Males constitute 53% of the population and females constitute 47% of the total population of Itanagar.
  • The most spoken language in Itanagar is Nishi, followed by other different languages such as Bengali, Adi, Adapani, Nepali, Hindi, Assamese, and Bhojpuri.

Itanagar – Tourist Places

  • The rich cultural heritage of Itanagar is showcased at Jawaharlal Nehru Museum located in Itanagar.
  • The Ganga Lake is a popular tourist destination in Itanagar.
  • One of the most important historical sites in Itanagar is the Ita Fort.

Arunachal Pradesh – An Important State in North East India

  • Arunachal Pradesh was carved out of the erstwhile North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA) region.
  • Arunachal Pradesh earned statehood on 20th February 1987.
  • Arunachal Pradesh is the largest state among the Seven Sister States of Northeast India.
  • Arunachal Pradesh shares a very long boundary with Tibet.
  • Myanmar is located to the east of Arunachal Pradesh, and Tibet is located to the west of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Towards the south, Arunachal Pradesh borders the Indian states of Nagaland, and Assam.

Arunachal Pradesh – Tribes, and Ethnic Diversity

  • Arunachal Pradesh is home to 26 major tribes of India and 100 sub-tribes.
  • The ethnic diversity of Arunachal Pradesh can be understood from the fact that the southeast of Arunachal Pradesh is dominated by the Naga people, the east is dominated by Tai and Mishmi people, the centre of the state is dominated by Tani people, and the west is dominated by the Monpa people.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How many capitals does Arunachal Pradesh have?

There is just one capital for Arunachal Pradesh. It is Itanagar. Arunachal Pradesh does not have a separate winter capital and summer capital like Jammu and Kashmir.

What is the old name of Arunachal Pradesh?

Arunachal Pradesh was earlier known as the North East Frontier Agency during the British colonial era. The region of Arunachal Pradesh was earlier mentioned even in ancient Hindu literature such as Kalika-Purana, Ramayana, and Mahabharat. Till 1972, Arunachal Pradesh was part of Assam. It became a Union Territory in 1972 and became a full-fledged state in 1987.

Which is the capital of Assam?

Dispur is the capital of Assam. Earlier, Shillong was the capital of Assam. After Meghalaya was carved out and created as a new state, Shillong became the capital of Meghalaya. Dispur became the capital of Assam in 1973.

Which is the capital of Nagaland?

Kohima is the capital of Nagaland. Kewhira was the original name of Kohima. Kohima was founded in 1878 when the British Empire established its headquarters in the then Naga Hills District of Assam Province. Kohima is the second largest city of Nagaland.

What is the capital of Meghalaya?

Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya. Shillong was the capital of Assam from 1874 to 1972. After Meghalaya was carved out and created as a new state, Shillong became the capital of Meghalaya.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.