Capital of Meghalaya

Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya. It was initially the capital of Assam from 1874 to 1972. Shillong was made the capital of Meghalaya following the formation of the new state of Meghalaya. This article will throw more light on the capital of Meghalaya and the state of Meghalaya.

Shillong – A Brief Overview

  • Shillong is the headquarters of the East Khasi Hills district.
  • Shillong is popularly known as the “Scotland of the East”.
  • The majority of the population in Shillong speaks the native language named Khasi.
  • The other languages spoken in Shillong are Bengali, Hindi, Nepali, Assamese, Punjabi, Garo, and Urdu.
  • Christianity is the dominant religion in Shillong.
  • The important tourist destinations of Shillong are Crinoline falls, Sweet falls, State Museum, Chrysalis Gallery, Wankhar Entomological Museum, Don Bosco Centre for Indigenous Cultures, Shillong peak, Motphran, Ward’s lake, Ka Phan Nonglait park, Elephant falls, etc.
  • Sports such as Football and Archery are very popular in Shillong.
  • Many important national-level institutes of higher education are located in Shillong.
  • The headquarters of the Eastern Air Command is located in Shillong.

Meghalaya – Northeast India

  • Meghalaya means “Abode of the Clouds”.
  • Meghalaya is located in Northeast India.
  • As per the 2011 census, the population of Meghalaya is 29,66,889.
  • The languages spoken in Meghalaya are Khasi, Pnar, Garo, and English.
  • The total area of the state of Meghalaya is 22,429 sq km.
  • The population density of Meghalaya is 132 per sq km.
  • The literacy rate in the state of Meghalaya is 74.43%.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)


How many capitals are there for Meghalaya?

Meghalaya has just one capital — Shillong. Shillong was the capital of Assam from 1874 to 1972. After the reorganisation of states, Shillong became the capital of Meghalaya.

What is the capital of Assam?

Dispur is the capital of Assam. Dispur is a sub-urban locality in Guwahati. Earlier, Shillong was the capital of Assam. After Meghalaya was carved out of Assam, Dispur was made the capital of Assam. Dispur is part of the Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency.

What is the old name of Shillong?

The old name of Shillong was Yeddo or Lewduh.

What is the capital of Mizoram?

Aizawl is the capital of Mizoram. Aizawl is the largest city in Mizoram.

Which city is called the Scotland of the East?

Shillong is called the Scotland of the East. The rolling hills around the town reminded the British of Scotland. Hence, the British started referring to Shillong as Scotland of the East.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.