Undergraduate Common Entrance Examination for Design (UCEED) - 2023 | Participating Colleges

The Undergraduate Common Entrance Examination for Design (UCEED), organised by IIT Bombay, is the common entrance test for admission to the Bachelor of Design (B.Des) programme in the leading colleges such as IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IIT Hyderabad, and IIITDM Jabalpur.

Table of Contents

UCEED Participating Institutes

Five premier institutes participate in the UCEED for the yearly intake of bright and meritorious students into the programme of Bachelor of Design (B.Des). The institutes are mentioned below.

  1. IDC School of Design, IIT Bombay:

The IDC School of Design was previously known as the Industrial Design Centre at IIT Bombay. The institute provides the Master in Design programme (M.Des) in the following streams: industrial design, communication design, animation design, interaction design & mobility and vehicle design.

IDC provides the B.Des programme (4 years, or 8 semesters) and the dual degree programme (B.Des + M.Des – 5 years, or 10 semesters). The choice of selecting the dual degree programme is available only at the end of the third year. The official website of IDC School of Design, IIT Bombay, is www.idc.iitb.ac.in.

  1. Department of Design, IIT Delhi:

The Department of Design (DoD) at IIT Delhi provides both Bachelor of Design (B.Des) and the Master of Design (M.Des) courses. The institute will launch the programme B.Tech (Design) from the academic year 2025-26. The official website of the Department of Design, IIT Delhi is www.design.iitd.ac.in.

  1. Department of Design, IIT Guwahati:

The DoD at IIT Guwahati provides the B.Des as well as the M.Des degrees. The programmes focus on the study, invention, and creative use of technology and its impact on individuals, groups and organisations. The official website of the Department of Design, IIT Guwahati is www.iitg.ernet.in/design.

  1. Department of Design, IIT Hyderabad:

The IIT Hyderabad B.Des course curriculum is focused on tackling an increasing need and demand in the industry by using the academic and professional aspects of the programme. The official website of the Department of Design, IIT Hyderabad is www.design.iith.ac.in.

  1. Design Discipline, IIITDM Jabalpur:

The course provides hands-on practice on the modern-age facilities of rapid prototyping, 3D scanning, ultrasonic plastic welding, water-jet cutting, CNC, injection moulding, vacuum forming, laser cutting, universal woodworking, and so on, with support staff skilled in wood, metal, polymer, FRPs and composite fabrication.

Other Colleges

Apart from the participating colleges, many other colleges that provide the B.Des and the M.Des courses also undertake admissions through UCEED. The list of these colleges is given below.

  1. Delhi Technological University, Delhi.
  2. World University of Design, Sonepat, Haryana.
  3. JK Lakshmipat University, Jaipur.
  4. Lovely Professional University, Phagwara, Punjab.
  5. Department of Design, Netaji Subhas University of Technology (NSUT), Delhi.
  6. UPES School of Design, Dehradun.
  7. VIT School of Design (V-SIGN), VIT, Vellore.
  8. Institute of Design, Nirma University, Ahmedabad
  9. Vidyavardhan’s Institute of Design Environment and Architecture (IDEA), Nashik
  10. MIT-WPU School of Design, Pune
  11. RV University, Bengaluru
  12. Symbiosis School of Planning, Architecture and Design, Nagpur
  13. Srishti Manipal Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Bengaluru
  14. CEPT University, Ahmedabad
  15. MIT ID Ujjain Avantika University, Ujjain
  16. Jain (Deemed-to-be-University), Bangalore
  17. CIT, Kokrajhar
  18. Shoolini University, Solan

For the admission-related queries, candidates must contact the above-mentioned institutes directly.

For any queries, candidates can write to [email protected] or call the UCEED helpdesk number at +91- 22-25764063/9093/9094.

Also See:

Frequently Asked Questions – FAQs


Which are the UCEED participating colleges?

There are five UCEED participating colleges, namely IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Guwahati, IIT Hyderabad and IIITDM Jabalpur.


How many colleges accept the UCEED score?

As per the UCEED official website, 18 colleges accept the UCEED scores for yearly intake to their various B.Des and M.Des courses.


Does CIT Kokrajhar accept the UCEED score?

Yes, CIT Kokrajhar has started accepting admissions to B.Des and M.Des courses through UCEED.


What is the next step after qualifying UCEED?

After qualifying the UCEED exam, candidates must participate in counselling for the allotment of seats to get the course and college of their interest.


How many seats does IIT Delhi have for the B.Des programme?

IIT Delhi has a total of 37 seats for the B.Des programme.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.