Classification of Fungi by Alexopoulos and Mims

Mycologists have made numerous attempts to categorise fungi according to their vegetative and reproductive characteristics. Fungi are divided into four classes according to conventional classifications: Ascomycetes, Phycomycetes, Basidiomycetes, and Deuteromycetes. The Phycomycetes comprise fungi like Oomycetes, Chytridiomycetes, and Zygomycetes, lower fungi with an algal origin.

Eventually, C. J. Alexopoulos and C. W. Mims (1979) classified fungus and slime moulds as belonging to the superkingdom Eukaryonta’s Myceteae. The kingdom is organised into three divisions, and each division is further subdivided into a class, a form-class, and a sub-division.

The general overview of the classification is as follows:

Superkingdom Eukaryonta

  • Kingdom Myceteae (Fungi)
    • Division Gymnomycota
      • Subdivision Acrasiogymnomycotina
        • Class Acrasiomycetes
      • Subdivision Plasmodiogymnomycotina
        • Class Protosteliomycetes
        • Class Myxomycetes
    • Division Mastigomycota
      • Subdivision Haplomastigomycotina
        • Class Chytridiomycetes
        • Class Hyphochytridiomycetes
        • Class Plasmodiophoromycetes
      • Subdivision Diplomastigomycotina
        • Class Oomycetes
    • Division Amastigomycota
      • Subdivision Zygomycotina
        • Class Zygomycetes
        • Class Trichomycetes
      • Subdivision Ascomycotina
        • Class Ascomycetes
      • Subdivision Basidiomycotina
        • Class Basidiomycetes
      • Subdivision Deuteromycotina
        • Form class Deuteromycetes

Related Links:

Visit BYJU’S Biology for more information.