Revision Notes For For Class 11 Biology Chapter 3 Plant Kingdom

The Plant Kingdom or Kingdom Plantae is mainly composed of the plants. Plants are the multicellular, autotrophic, eukaryotic organisms. They are the producers and prepare their own food through the process of Photosynthesis. On an average, there are about 260,000 different species of plants and they include trees, grass, shrubs, climbers, creepers, and some types of algae.

Biologists classified plants into different groups to make it easier for studying different features of different plant species.

Based on all these factors, the plant kingdom has been divided into five subgroups. They are as follows:

  1. Thallophyta –They are the lowermost plants of the plant kingdom, without a well-differentiated body structure.
  2. Bryophyta-These are the small terrestrial plants, which show differentiation in the body structure, with stem, leaf, and roots.
  3. Pteridophyta-These are the oldest vascular plants. The plant body is differentiated into roots, stem, and leaves along with specialized tissues.
  4. Gymnosperms- They are plants with naked seeds.
  5. Angiosperms- They are seed-bearing plants.

Check here for the free CBSE Class 11 Biology revision notes for Chapter 3- Plant Kingdom

Class 11 Biology Chapter 3- Plant Kingdom

For more information about the Plant Kingdom, click on the below-mentioned links.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *