National Science Day

National Science Day is celebrated every year on 28 February to mark the discovery of the ‘Raman Effect’ by Sir C.V. Raman on 28 February 1928.

It was this discovery that got Sir C.V. Raman a Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930.

This article will give details about National Science Day within the context of the IAS Exam

History of the National Science Day

The National Council for Science and Technology Communication (NCSTC) requested the Central Government to designate 28 February as the National Science Day (NSD) in 1986. It was done with a view to honor not just the achievements of Sir C.V. Raman but also of other scientists for their achievements in the scientific field.

Upon approval the National Science Day is celebrated all over India in schools, colleges, universities and other institutions. Following the first NSD in Feb 28 1987 the National Council for Science and Technology Communication announced the creation of the National Science Popularization awards which recognised individuals for their contributions in the realm of science and communication.

List of Important Days for UPSC Prelims

Significance of National Science Day

The NSD is celebrated with a view to spread the message about the significance of science and how it improves the daily lives of the common folk. In addition its celebration also has the following objectives in mind.

  1. Display all activities, efforts and achievements in the field of science
  2. To provide opportunity those citizens of India interested in science
  3. To foster and encourage interest in science and technology.

National Science Day- Download PDF Here

Themes of National Science Day

Since 1999, the National Science Day has been celebrated keeping in mind certain specific themes. They are as follows:

National Science Day

Year Theme
1999 Our Changing Earth
2000 Recreating Interest in Basic Science
2001 Information Technology for Science Education
2002 Wealth From Waste
2003 50 years of DNA & 25 years of IVF – The Blueprint of Life
2004 Encouraging Scientific Awareness in Community
2005 Celebrating Physics
2006 Nurture Nature for our future
2007 More Crop Per Drop
2008 Understanding the Planet Earth
2009 Expanding Horizons of Science
2010 Gender Equity, Science & Technology for Sustainable Development
2011 Chemistry in Daily Life
2012 Clean Energy Options and Nuclear Safety
2013 Genetically Modified Crops and Food Security
2014 Fostering Scientific Temper
2015 Science for Nation Building
2016 Scientific Issues for Development of the Nation
2017 Science and Technology for Specially Abled Persons
2018 Science and Technology for a sustainable future
2019 Science for the People, and the People for Science
2020 Women in Science
2021 Future of STI: Impact on Education Skills and Work

Awards given on National Science Day

Along with the National Science Popularization awards, national awards in other categories are also given on the National Science Day. Some of the them are as follows:

  • National S&T Communication Awards
  • Augmenting Writing Skills for Articulating Research (AWSAR) awards,
  • SERB Women Excellence Awards
  • Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield

The list of awardees for the year 2021 and their respective categories are given below:

National S&T Communication Awards (2021)



Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines

Dr. S. Anil Kumar

Popularization among Children
  1. Indian Resource and Development Association, Haryana
  2. Dr. Mihir Kumar  Panda
Innovative and Traditional methods
  1. Dr. Sheffali Gulati,
  2. Shri Rakesh Khatri
Science & Technology Communication in the Electronic Medium

Dr. Krishna Kumari Challa


Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield

Outstanding Work in Science Media and Journalism Dr. S. Anil Kumar
S&T Awards in India Dr Lalit Mohan, Society for Environment & Development (SED)
Indian origin Academicians Abroad Dr. Rajesh Bhatia & Team, Punjab Engineering College (PEC), Chandigarh


Augmenting writing skills for articulating research (AWSAR) Award

Outstanding Story (PDF category) Dr. Sangeeta Dutta
AWSAR Award: First Prize (Ph.D. category) Ms. Pooja Maurya
AWSAR Award: Second prize Ms. Indu Joshi,
AWSAR Award: Third prize Ms. Shruti Soni


Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) Women Excellence Award

Dr. Shobhna Kapoor

Dr. Antara Banerjee

Dr. Sonu Gandhi

Dr. Ritu Gupta,

For more information about upcoming Government Exams, visit the linked article. More exam-related preparation materials will be found through the links given below

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.