BOC Full Form

What is the full form of BOC?

The full form of BOC is the Bank of Ceylon. BOC is a main commercial bank in Sri Lanka that is state-owned. The headquarters of BOC is situated in Colombo, the island’s political and economic capital, in an iconic cylinder shape. In the world, the bank has a network of 628 subsidiaries, 689 ATMs, one twenty-three CDM networks and fifteen regional credit centers.

The bank operates, in response to its local presence, an offshore banking unit at its headquarters in Colombo, three branches in Chennai, Malé & Seychelles & a division in London.

A brief history of BOC

  • BOC, with Sir Ernest de Silva as its first chairman, was established in 1939.
  • Ceylon was a British colony at the period, and Sir Andrew Caldecott, then governor, ceremoniously launched the bank on 1 August.
  • For its government-oriented enterprises, the British government launched the banking arm. BOC began to spread it beyond the city of Colombo 2 years later, in 1941.
  • The first branch was inaugurated in Kandy. In main cities like Jaffna, Galle, Kurunegala, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Panadura & Badulla BOC later added divisions.

Key pieces of information about BOC

Few main pieces of information about BOC are tabulated below.

BOC Full Form Bank of Ceylon
Sector Banking, financial services
Established on 84 years ago in 1936
Founder Sir Ernest de Silva
BOC Headquarters BOC Square, Bank of Ceylon Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka
The area served by BOC Sri Lanka

United Kingdom




Main people Chairman – Kanchana Ratwatte

Executive director – Visakha Amarasekere

Service offered by BOC Retail banking

Corporate banking

Investment banking

1 Comment

  1. Thanks to give me some knowledge

Leave a Comment Cancel reply

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class