How many Colours are there on the Indian flag?

The National Flag consists of three colours. It is known as Tiranga in Hindi and Asoka Chakra in its middle. Three colours represent:

  • The Saffron colour -Courage and sacrifice
  • White – Truth, peace, and purity
  • The Green colour-Prosperity
  • Asoka Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma


Facts about our national flag:

  • The National Flag of India was designed by Pingali Venkayya. He was an Indian freedom fighter from Andhra Pradesh.
  • Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha is the only unit in India that is accredited to supply and manufacture the Flag of India.
  • The Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, have the manufacturing right to make the National Flag of India.
  • The width to length ratio of the National Flag of India is 2:3. The three strips of the flag should be equivalent in width and length.
  • The Indian flag was accepted on July 22, 1947, just before India gained independence from the British empire.

Further Reading:

Related Links
What is the punishment for disrespecting the national flag? When was The Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act passed?
National Aquatic Animal of India Under which section of the Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act 1971 is the penalty for misbehaving or acting in defiance of the national anthem?


UPSC Preparation Links
Constitution Questions for UPSC Mains UPSC 2022
Polity Questions and Answers List Of IAS Preparation Articles

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *