NSO Eligibility Criteria

The National Science Olympiad, or NSO, is a competitive test held each year by the Science Olympiad Foundation for school students. It’s a science competition that allows students to assess their own scientific understanding. The SOF NSO test is one of the most popular examinations for school students in India, among other Olympiad exams such as IGKO, IEO, IMO, and NCO.

All applicants must meet the NSO test eligibility standards in order to sit for the examinations. The NSO eligibility standards are set by the SOF. Candidates who wish to participate in the National Science Olympiad tests this year must verify that they fulfil the NSO 2022-23 eligibility criteria. Also, because NSO is a two-stage test, the NSO qualifying requirements for Level 1 and Level 2 exams are different.

Exam Highlights

Exam Conducting Body Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF)
Eligibility Students from Class 1 to 12
Objective To help students test their Science knowledge by competing with other students
Frequency Annually
Application Process Through respective schools
Mode of Application/ Mode of Exam Offline
Exam Difficulty Level Intermediate

Eligibility Criteria

  • Only schools that have registered with the SOF are eligible to apply for NSO. Schools must select any exam date that is convenient for them and register for it 30 days prior to the exam day. Students can sign up for the SOF NSO test through their schools. The SOF NSO test requires a minimum of 10 students from each institution to enrol.
  • NSO examinations are only open to students in grades 1 to 12.
  • Science is a required topic in which the candidate has a strong interest.
  • Boards – The NSO test is only open to students who are enrolled in CBSE, ICSE, or a state board.
  • Year of Attempt – A student can apply for the NSO test if he or she is enrolled in any of the classes from 1 to 12.
  • Number of Attempts – Students can only apply for the NSO test once, in each academic year.

Level 1 NSO Exam Eligibility

For Level 1, there are no explicit NSO test qualifying requirements. The level 1 Olympiad test is open to students in grades 1 to 12. There are no minimum grades that students must achieve in their academics.

Level 2 NSO Exam Eligibility

The Olympiad test level 2 is only open to students who did well in level 1. The Olympiad examinations are open to the students listed below.

  • The top 5% of students in each class who took the Level 1 test are qualified to take the Level 2 exam.
  • The top 25 scorers in each zone who took the Level 1 test are qualified to take the Level 2 exam.
  • Each participating school has a minimum of ten rank-holders who took tests and received 50 per cent qualifying marks.
  • If students register section by section, students who obtain the highest marks in each subject will be qualified to take the NSO Level 2 test. Students who win gold medals in section-wise registration may or may not be eligible for second-level Olympiad tests.
  • NSO Level 2 examinations are not open to students in Classes 1 and 2. Only the results of the Level 1 tests are used to evaluate their performance.

Frequently Asked Questions on NSO Eligibility 2022-2023

What are the NSO 2022-23’s most important sections?

The logical reasoning, science, and achievers parts of the NSO 2021-22 are the most significant.

In the NSO 2022-23 examinations, what types of questions will be asked?

In the NSO 2022-23 examinations, objective-type questions will be asked.

What is the NSO Olympiad syllabus?

The NSO syllabus is based on the CBSE, ICSE, and several state boards’ specified syllabuses.

Is it possible for students to take NSO in a language other than English?

No. For the NSO test, English is the only language available.

Is there any negative marking in the NSO exam?

No, there is no negative marking in the NSO exam 2022.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *