Difference between Typical and Atypical Vertebrae

Typical Vertebrae

All basic components of a vertebral column come under typical vertebrae. It consists of the body and the vertebral arch. The vertebral arch is made of laminae and pedicles. Most of the adult vertebral columns are typical in nature.

A typical vertebra includes most of the thoracic, lumbar and cervical vertebrae.

Atypical Vertebrae

Atypical vertebrae also have thoracic, lumbar and cervical vertebrae. These structures are modified based on their functions and requirements. It is slightly different from the regular vertebral anatomy due to its position and function.

Extended Reading: Human nervous system

Difference between Typical and Atypical Vertebrae

Typical Vertebrae

Atypical Vertebrae

It includes the typical anatomy of vertebrae along with a vertebral arch.

It is a modified structure based on requirements and functions.

This includes C3, C4, C5 and C6 of the cervical vertebrae.

This includes C1, C2 and C7 cervical vertebrae.

Typical vertebrae include T2 to T8 thoracic vertebrae and also the lumbar vertebrae (except L5), the sacrum and coccyx.

It also includes T1, T9, T10, T11, and T12 thoracic vertebrae and L5 of the lumbar vertebrae.

Bones of spine

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a vertebral column?

The vertebral column is a structure that protects the spinal cord. It is made up of 26 units called the vertebrae. This structure is extended from the base of the skull. It also includes the sternum and ribs.

What are the five regions of the vertebral column?

The vertebral column is classified into five regions, based on the vertebrae. This includes the cervical, lumbar, thoracic, coccyx and sacral. The cervical has seven vertebrae, out of which C1 is the atlas and C2 is the axis. There are twelve thoracic vertebrae and five lumbar vertebrae. The sacral is a single unit that has five fused vertebrae. Also, the coccyx is a single vertebra.

What are spinal nerves?

There are a total of 31 spinal nerves that carry signals between the spinal cord. The 31 spinal nerves are as follows –

  • Eight cervical nerves
  • Twelve thoracic nerves
  • Five lumbar nerves
  • Five sacral nerves
  • One coccygeal nerve

Also Read: Bones of Spine

Keep exploring BYJU’S Biology for more exciting topics.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class